Wordly Wise 3000

February 3, 2011
No votes yet.
Please wait...

Wordly Wise 3000 4th Edition

Content: Vocabulary
Grade(s): K – 12th
Perspective: Secular
Prep Time: Minimal
Teacher Manual: Available
Teacher Involvement: Moderate
Cost: $ || ?
Pages: 153
Publication Date: 2012
Publisher: http://eps.schoolspecialty.com
Review Last Updated: May 27, 2017

Common Core Aligned: Yes

** From the Publisher’s Website: **

Wordly Wise 3000® 4th Edition provides direct academic vocabulary instruction to develop the critical link between vocabulary and reading comprehension. The robust activities, student engagement, and differentiated instruction provide the flexibility to meet the needs of today’s varying student population.

Grades K & 1: Develop key oral vocabulary that lays the foundation for literacy success.

Grades 2 & 3: Vocabulary instruction becomes more sophisticated as students prepare for content area learning. Books 2-3 contain 15 lessons each and 10 words per lesson.

Grades 4 – 8: Students learn strategies to unlock the meaning of words they will encounter in content area texts, literature, and high-stakes tests. Books 4-8 contain 20 lessons each and 15 words per lesson.

Grades 9 – 12: Students continue learning strategies to unlock the meaning of words they will encounter in content area texts, literature, and high-stakes tests, including the ACT and SAT. Books 9-12 contain 20 lessons each and 15 words per lesson.

Wordly Wise 3000 is also available in digital format. Or, you can supplement your book work with Wordly Wise 3000 Quizlets, available with a free membership.

Visit the publisher’s website to download free sample lessons.


About the Author:
For over 60 years EPS Literacy and Intervention has been the leader in developing and publishing programs to help struggling students, including those with dyslexia and other reading difficulties, as well as providing materials that support on-level students so they can continue to meet their goals.


Because one opinion is never enough! Have you ever used Wordly Wise 3000? How did it work for your family? Share your review below.



Share

6 Comments

  • Deb December 1, 2016 at 12:05 pm

    Very good vocabulary program. I preferred the workbook over the online application. Use it through much of middle and high school… but language is intuitive for my kids and they used books 1-2 levels above grade. One potential negative… every lesson is laid out exactly the same. So if you like variety, these can get tedious

  • Kate W November 30, 2016 at 1:11 pm

    Wordly Wise is completely secular. Levels/books are the same as grades. So Book 2 is aimed at 2nd graders. For the workbooks K and 1st require the expensive teacher pack, all the stories are in that. But when you get to 2nd you just need the student workbook. It is no longer pretty and colorful but after my son adjusted to that he is enjoying it. My 2nd grader is just beginning to read and write so I read the workbook to him and scribe for him.

  • Evelyn Ender April 29, 2014 at 8:25 am

    Wordly Wise 3000 has several *early* levels (A,B, and C) which are illustrated (A is the least wordy, and C the most). After that, there are fewer illustrations – none, by level 3. These A-C levels are intended for thorough parent involvement, rather than independent use by emergent readers. Original Wordly Wise does not have illustrations at all. My two girls (currently using WW3000 levels 4 and 5) really enjoy it: one of them routinely works ahead of her assignment, and the other has written “I love Wordly Wise” on the cover of her book… I never get pushback, not even on a snow day!

  • Catharine Alvarez April 8, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    I’m very happy with the Wordly Wise workbooks. I like the feature of multiple answers being correct and multiple, non-literal meanings being taught alongside the primary definitions.

  • Kelli February 28, 2011 at 8:45 am

    My daughter is working her way through her 1st book and she absolutely loves it. She loves the activites. She remembers most of her words and gets excited when she reads one or one comes up in a conversation.

  • Katherine alexander February 27, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    We have gone through 2 books from this program and my son has really enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *