Apologia Exploring Creation Science Series

February 5, 2011
No votes yet.
Please wait...

Apologia Exploring Creation Science Series

Content: Science
Grade(s): K – 12th
Perspective: Christian
Prep Time: Minimal
Teacher Manual: Available
Teacher Involvement: Moderate
Cost: $$ || ?
Pages: Varies
Publication Date: 2010
Publisher: www.apologia.com
Review Last Updated: May 28, 2017

Common Core Aligned:

Apologia’s science courses offer rigorous and detailed instruction in a variety of science topics using an unapologetic Christian worldview.

While not officially designated as “AP” by the College Board, Apologia advanced science texts are used by many families to successfully prepare for the AP science exams. Background knowledge and pre-requisite math skills should be noted when selecting a text for your child.

Individual Apologia Courses Available

Elementary

Anatomy & Physiology
Astronomy
Botany
Chemistry & Physics
Zoology 1, 2, and 3

Junior High

General Science
Physical Science

High School

Biology
Marine Biology
Advanced Biology
Chemistry
Advanced Chemistry
Physics
Advanced Physics

Apologia Online Academy offers online classes for grades 7–12 and adults in science, worldview, apologetics, and Bible.


About the Publisher:
Apologia is a family-owned corporation, with Davis and Rachael Carman serving as the stewards since 2008. The mission of Apologia Educational Ministries is to publish curriculum and resources and provide services that help homeschooling students and families learn, live, and defend the Christian faith.


Because one opinion is never enough! Have you ever used Apologia Exploring Creation Science Series? How did it work for your family? Share your review below.






Share

9 Comments

  • Marie Cobb March 30, 2015 at 1:26 pm

    We enjoy the Apologia high school anatomy book and workbook because of all of the extra projects and activities provided it was so much more interesting than just reading a book and doing an occasional experiment. If your child is a “hands on” kid, he or she should really find this enjoyable.

  • Marlene August 28, 2014 at 5:32 am

    We are doing General Science for 7th grade science and find it a very focused program. It covers the basic ideas of science and scientific method through experiments and my twins are getting a lot out of the modules. It’s geared specifically to the homeschooler which is much easier than other programs we have cobbled together in past years. Some might have issue with the religious tones of this program, but the science is very solid here.

  • Faithfully Homeschooling September 2, 2012 at 7:17 am

    I used General Science with my 5th and 7th grade kids. I would read the text out loud and we would talk about ideas my younger one didn’t get. Most of the times I’d let my older one try to explain the concept first and I would jump in, if necessary. The first 2 chapters were pretty tough to get through, but after that it got easier. I had my 7th grader take the tests. My 5th grader would create graphic organizers (like flow charts but with lots of pictures and arrows and bullet point facts) instead. We met once a week with another family to do experiments and field trips.

    I also used Physical Science after we had finished Apologia’s General Science. I was worried about the math because the students learn how to do conversions. It’s mostly fractions type math. My younger one needed some hand holding on that but because the topics were so interesting, we got through it. Since I read the textbook out loud, it gives us a chance to talk about ideas. I think science facts are important to know but sometimes facts and opinions can get confused so we ask each other a lot of questions to prove what we read and know. Sometimes we work on outlining chapters and tkaing notes together and sometimes I just let my older one do that indpenedently. I think this is a good science program.

  • Laura W. January 9, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    If you accept the young-earth viewpoint, you’ll appreciate this text, but you can still use the book if you’re a Christian who holds a different idea of Genesis and the Creation. Be prepared that you’ll also read viewpoints that disagree with the young-earth pov, but you can skip that if you want. I liked how God was mentioned in different ways in different parts of the book, reminding us to give God glory for all things.

  • Wendylyn January 9, 2012 at 11:39 am

    We made the mistake of trying to use the high school Apologia Physics book without a better grasp on math. I like Apologia a lot, and my kids did well with their other books. I think the books is well written and gives a lot of structure and review for learning but we had to stop with Exploring Physics until we learned more math.

  • Kristen April 5, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Apologia is definitely Creationist, but I found that it differs from other Christian programs in that it does not avoid discussing evolution. However, the perspective definitely does not side with evolution. I’ve heard of it being used by secular users and can see how that could be. We’ve been happy with the format and content of Apologia. They have certainly sparked a new interest in science for dd since starting them last year. For our family, the Creationist perspective works as well.

  • Kelli February 28, 2011 at 8:50 am

    My daughter and I love the Apologia books. I love how she uses science to show how evolution is incorrect theory. Botany was great fun, through this book my daughter was able to help make our garden plans and learn what to look for and how all the plants grew.

  • Katherine alexander February 27, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    My son loved this book at a 4 year old. I would read it to him and we would do the experiments. Since my son loved science this book really went in great depth. He really learned a lot.

  • Julie February 27, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    Zoology is my favorite of the elementary series. It is packed full of information, but easy enough for young students. My kids have enjoyed me reading it to them and the hands-on projects are well-planned and easy to do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *